Spicy Beef Udooly-Noodley Soup

Yahoooo!! It’s SoupaPalooza time :)

Just in the nick of time too. As the weather is still pretty cold, there’s snow on the ground and all you want to do is swim in a bubbly hot tub of your favourite soup (what? – what do you mean you don’t do that … errmmm – – yea, me too – I totally don’t dream of doing that) the brilliant women of Tidy Mom & Dine and Dash bring you SoupaPalooza 2012.

Here you will find rich delicious soups, hot velvety stews, chilli’s that are to die for and all that warm yummy-goodness known to take away the chill during cold winter months.

And sweethearts, to add to this party of amazing-ness – – I’ve got a doozey for you!

Spicy Beef Udooly-Noodley Soup.

What makes this soup so amazing?

– The rich flavours used.

– The fact that it simmers all day, to bring you an out of this world broth

and most importantly …

It’s slurp-ability!!

Yep, you heard me !!

Remember when you were growing up and mom made chicken noodle soup ( even if it was from a can). I know I would sit there – – ever so silently attempting to slurp every noodle … one.by.one.

I was convinced, I was a ninja — cunning and swift in my soup eating skills.  That was until … I would hear from behind me

“ HEY!! STOP THAT?!?”

… you got’ta love moms. It’s their job to raise humans and make sure we don’t turn out like monkeys (for the most part)… hence, the seldom yelling is sometimes necessary.

Secretly though, I know mom’s find the slurping hilarious (just don’t tell my mom I said that :) !!).

Let’s not tell any mom’s this .. but I’m encouraging you to get messy – – and slurp away!!

When this particular pot comes out in my kitchen – – the entire family knows what’s going down. They expect aromas of deliciousness to dance from room to room, throughout the day. They know, tonight  – well tonight’s going to be a great night, ending with us all have a warm soup tummy.

Get in on the slurpy-delicious-cozy soup tummy feeling tonight!

Spicy Beef Udooly-Noodley Soup.

The stock that will keep you going back for more

4 Sticks of Lemon Grass

1 inch Piece of Ginger

5 Cloves of Garlic

1/4 Cups Fresh Thyme

1 Tbsp Cinnamon Spice

3Tbsp Sriracha Sauce

1 Tbsp Oyster Sauce

2 Tbsp Onion Powder

2 Tbsp Ground Ginger Powder

2 Tbsp Salt

2 Tbsp Black Pepper

Directions

Add all of the above ingredients into a large soup pot.

Cover with 3 litres of water. Bring to a boil for 25 minutes.

Lower heat to a simmer and allow all of the flavours to make sweet sweet love – – for at least 45 minutes. To be honest, I normally allow this to boil all day. The longer it simmers, the more flavourful the stock.

After all of the flavours have meshed, remove all the large pieces from your stock.

The Meat of the matter

3 Lbs thinly sliced lean chuck beef

2 Tbsp Worchestire Sauce

2 Tbsp Salt

2 Tsp Black Pepper

Directions

In a medium sized bowl, add all of the ingredients above. Allow to marinate for at least 15 minutes  – or even better, over night.

Once marinated, add to boiling stock. Allow to cook for 10 minutes, do not over cook – as you don’t want your beef to become tough.

Let’s Veggie-size

(feel free to use any vegetables you may have on hand – – get creative with your soup … after all you’re the boss of it ;) )

1 Cup Bean Sprouts

2 Cups Cabbage, finely shredded

2 Large Carrots shaved using a vegetable-peeler (GENIUS!!)

2 Cups Green Beans

2 Cups Broccoli

Directions

Prepare all of the vegetables as indicated above.

Keep in separate bowls so each individual can customize their soup to their liking.

The Udooly-Noodles

2 packs Udon Noodles

5 Cups Boiling water

Directions:

In a large colander, place udon noodles.

When ready to eat – cover noodles with boiling water and allow to steam for 5 minutes.

Drain and begin to build your soup!!

Bring on the soup tummy feeling!!

Now that everything is prepared – – let’s get hot and throw this noodley-delight together!!

Build your soup in the following fashion:

In your favourite soup bowl, add a cabbage base layer
Next, layer your shaved carrots – a couple green beans and enough broccoli to make your heart happy
Then, noodle up!!
Last and most importantly – – get beefy .. .and add that simmering stock to bring this home :)

slurp-slurp-slurpitty-slurp.

Enjoy, cupcakes ;)

If you want more of this warm and cozy soup action – – or even better, if you have a bowl that you want to share – – Come join SoupaPalooza at TidyMom and Dine and Dish sponsored by KitchenAid, Red Star Yeast and Le Creuset.

Happy slurping children of the playground.

Stay sweet

xoxo

13 thoughts on “Spicy Beef Udooly-Noodley Soup

    • Thanks kiddo ;) – – if you do, let me know how it comes out. Whenever I make this soup – – it’s like a new addiction. A delicious addiction mind you ( most of mine are :() -but an addiction none the less.

    • Thanks Emily!! I’m so thrilled that you read my blog – – as embarrassing as this sounds, I’m a little star struck :$ – I adore everything that you create in your kitchen xox

  1. What an awesome soup!! I love how you can “accessorize” it!! It’s beautiful and one I would love to try out. I just finally found lemongrass in a market near me!

    • Aggie, thanks so much for your sweet words!! Lol, one of my favouite things about this soup, is that you can customize it. I have four people in my family, and when we sit down to eat – – there are always 4 different bowls of soup.

    • Anna, that’s so nice of you – – I think you may be the first person to pin one of my recipes!! Thank you Thank you thank you …Im honoured ;)

      And on the slurpability scale – – this is at least a 9.5 lol

How Sweet Are You?

