What’cha Think : Tetley Dark Chocolate Chai Tea and Dark Chocolate Chai Pear Muffins

I made you muffins.

I made you muffins and there’s fruit in it.

There’s also a slight hint of cocoa

The way this little party works is – I love you – make you yummy things – take pictures and then you make it and come back to tell me that you love it or hate it … sweet deal?

 ….And even if you hate it, I’ll still love you (it has a lot to do with how cute you are :)).

Before we get to the muffins, lets chit-chat about tea.

Are you a big tea drinker? Or a coffee Mama?

If I’m not drinking water – I’m drinking tea. Yep, even with my meals … is that strange?

Nothing comforts me like a piping hot cup of tea. Usually green.

Lately though, I’ve been experimenting … and that’s when I came across this.

Dark Chocolate Chai Tea.

I was pretty pumped. A hot tea, that tastes like hot chocolate with some lovely added spices – – where do I sign up?!?

I made it.

I made it, and it tastes nothing like hot chocolate. I was a little disappointed, but not surprised. I didn’t add milk or anything fancy; I just wanted to taste the actual tea.

It’s a light tea, with strong notes of cinnamon – cardamom and nutmeg. It’s nice, but doesn’t taste like chocolate at all.

While I love many of Tetley’s Teas – – this one gets a yay-boo from me.

Yay – it’s nice for a change. Perfect to bake with due to its light flavourings.

Boo – Where’s the chocolate? … Where’s the chocolate :D loll

So with a full canister of tea – the wheels in my old noggin began to turn.

Pear Dark Chocolate Chai Muffins

 2 Cups Flour

½ Cup Quick Oats

1 Tsp. Baking Soda

½ Tsp. Cocoa Powder

½ Tsp. Salt

½ Tsp. Cinnamon

½ Cup Brown Sugar

1/3 Cup Vegetable Oil

½ Tsp. Vanilla

1 Large Egg

1 Medium Pear – Grated

1 Tbsp. Vinegar

1 Cup Milk

2 Dark Chocolate Chai Tea Bags

Preheat oven to 350 oc – prepare a 12 cup muffin tin.

Over medium heat, simmer tea bags and milk for 5 minutes. Once small bubbles begin to form, remove from heat and remove tea bags.

Add vinegar to the chai milk mixture.

In a medium sized bowl, combine all of your dry ingredients – flour – oats – baking soda – cocoa powder – salt – cinnamon.

In a separate bowl, combine your sugar, oil, vanilla extract and the chai mixture.

Now, mix the wet and dry together.

Last – add your grated pear and fold into mixture.

Fill your muffin tins – bake for 20 minutes and then mmmmmmm-muffin time :)

Sweet Idea: Mother’s day is Sunday … hold her tight and make some muffins for your mama

xoxox

One thought on “What’cha Think : Tetley Dark Chocolate Chai Tea and Dark Chocolate Chai Pear Muffins

  1. Pingback: Sunday’s With Joy : Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake | Living The Sweet Life

How Sweet Are You?

