Sunday’s with Joy: Boozy Apple Crisp Blossoms

Fall is in the air.

Starbucks has their pumpkin latte on the menu

I need extra socks when I jump in bed

And everyone has started baking with cinnamon, nutmeg and pumpkin.

If that doesn’t scream fall I don’t know what does.

Fall is actually my favourite of all seasons. The leaves changing, the dipping of temperature causing you to have to get a little snuggly with you blankets and let’s not even start with fall fashion.

Two words: Cable Knits … I love it! And tweed pants.  And scarves. And cute leather jackets with fabulous booties. Clearly I can get carried away.

And the change in weather also calls for a change in food. Bring on the warm comfort food. Let’s sprinkle cinnamon everywhere, make a casserole with extra gooey cheese, pop a pie in the oven and plug your slow cooker in … comfort – comfort – comfort. Ohhhhh yeeeaaaaa!! I get abnormally excited about these things.

True story.

The ladies and gents of Sunday’s with Joy have also gotten in the fall mood with this week’s recipe. The fabulous Joy Wilson’s Man-bait apple crisp.

Let’s talk: Man-bait … love it! Apple crisp … love it! Granted I made it … and of course, I added my little touch of the sweet life.

I made them pretty and portable. There’s rum. I subbed almonds for pecans.  I also used fewer apples and added maple syrup. I topped it with caramel and well, they weren’t just coaxing boys to the yard but I know a certain Mama LTSL that had to have one for dessert.

Boozy Apple Crisp Blossoms

 Blossom Shells:

36 WonTon Skins

2 Tbsp dark rum

1/4 Cup Water

3 Tbsp Maple Syrup

1 Tsp Cinnamon powder

Directions:

Prepare 12-cup muffin tray.

In a small bowl, mix together rum, water, maple syrup and cinnamon. Lightly brush each wonton skin with mixture and arrange 3 skins per muffin cup.

Filling

 Joy’s recipe- except; 4 apples were used and the excess simple syrup above was also added.  

Topping

Joy’s recipe – except; Almonds were used instead of pecans and I added 1/4 cups of Flax seeds.

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 oc.

Fill each blossom shell with the apple filling and top with crumble.

Bake according to recipe.

 Fall in love with the cinnamon-sugar rush sweethearts … (see what I did there … ha! – - I seriously am my own best friend because of my corny jokes … sorry).

Stay sweet xo

8 thoughts on “Sunday’s with Joy: Boozy Apple Crisp Blossoms

  1. Ooooo looks delish even if it’s to enjoy in our crazy hot weather, I just know that and a bowl of ice cream is calling Uncle Aleem. Yum-O!!

  2. Oh my goodness! We can’t wait for fall either. It is still so hot in Austin! Thank you for sharing and inspiring me with these apple treats. I just found your blog today. What a sweet treat! I hope you have a great day!

How Sweet Are You?

