Sunday’s With Joy : Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake

 Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake

Cake.

It’s a magical thing. Some how it’s able to celebrate, cure, be delicious, be a good friend and do it all looking oh-so-sassy!!

I need this cake today, I feel like I need cake every day – and if I could, trust me, I would. But today’s different, I need a slice ( or two). It’s been a rough week. Work has been nuts, after hours I’m meeting with potential clients, filling orders, planning a wedding, recipe testing and all in that mix, I manage to get some sleep.

SWJPUDC

Speaking of sleep … you know that person you see every single morning sleeping on the train – – that’s me. Two things, first – you know I’m the sleeping lady … DO NOT sit next to me if you plan on talking on your cell phone at 6:45 am. Who’s up and needs to chat every.single.day at 6:45?! Second, thank you kind people who gently tap me when we get to my stop … I love you. And if possible, I would share this cake with you. You deserve a slice or two.

And so, my plans for this weekend … nada!! I want to kick back, do nothing at all and eat cake. Will it happen? –  Doubtful … but I’ll try my best. Let’s start with the cake :)

IMG_20130428_142706

Joy did her funky magic and added tea to cake. Remember when I did that to muffins? And then I did it again? Joy is cooler, she made petite cakes and then dunked them in frosting … her’s are pretty … delicate and delicious looking. Buy her book, make her cakes, and you’ll see.  I took her idea and did my funky magic.

I added earl grey instead of chamomile, skipped the honey frosting but added some extra butter – brown sugar – pineapple and cherries. It’s a beast of beauty. One that I will get to know at least once ( maybe twice … or thrice ..) this weekend.

 Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake

Adjustments:

Earl grey tea used.

Didn’t make, or add the frosting.

Additions:

1/4 Cup Butter

2/3 Cup Brown Sugar

3 Slices of Fresh Pineapple, cut into 1/4 segments

15 cherries ( or enough to make a pretty circle)

__________________________________________________

Melt 1/4 cup butter and pour into cake pan. Sprinkle brown sugar over melted butter. Arrange your pineapple and cherries in a pretty pattern. Cake – it should be simple, and pretty.

The rest, was all Joy.

  1.  Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake
  2.  Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake
  3.  Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake
  4.  Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake
  5.  Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake
  6.  Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake

 

 Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake

Enjoy darlings, have a great weekend … eat some cake … be merry… make magic <3

2 thoughts on “Sunday’s With Joy : Pineapple Upside Down Earl Grey Tea Cake

How Sweet Are You?

