(Ginger) Snappy Banana Bread

Happy November Sweet Hearts!!

… can you believe it’s already November? Where.is.the.year.running.away.to.? and WHY?!!?

Let’s move on, before I becomes sad … oh but wait, that means we’re SO MUCH closer to holiday cookies…and cakes… and deserts…*WOOT WOOT*. I’m okay now… how can I not be, when cookies are involved?!?! As the weather is cooling down… and I recover from OD-ing on Halloween candy (side note: mini chocolate bars = amazing … they also require you to eat a couple … so their not lonely in your tummy!!) ; I craved something scrumptious and … to be honest, something on the healthier side. So my sugar blasters ….

Let’s talk about bread … banana bread… Snappy banana bread!

You know, the kind that talks back …gives you a little attitude – rolls it’s eyes at you… well until you slater that little sucker with butter and bite into it – showing it who’s really the boss (maybe I got a little too carried away there :$ – … sorry)

I had these little puppies lying around my kitchen begging to be made into something other than a smoothy … and to the rescue (as always) came BREAD!! I knew I wanted a little something extra – a little crunch of fall. And so came the idea of adding broken ginger snap cookie *YES, YES I DID – and it was AMAZING*.  The Ginger snaps add that needed crunchy fall-ness, and a sweetness without being too sweet– it was perfect to be honest. Trust me when I say … those lonely banana’s were shown a good time!!

(Ginger) Snappy Banana Bread

1 Cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (you could just use 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown cane sugar ( this gives the bread a little extra crunch, feel free to use any type of brown sugar)

1 tsp baking powder

1  tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger powder

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup milk

1 egg lightly beaten

3-4 ripened bananas (smush-ified)

1 tbsp vanilla extract

8 Ginger Snap cookies, broken into small pieces ( I added some extras for the topping :))

1/2 cup flax seeds (Optional)

1/2 cup raisins (Optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 oc . Grease 16×4 loaf pan.

In a large bowl sift together: flour(s), sugar(s), baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and ginger powder.

In a separate bowl : add oil,   milk, egg, vanilla and your lovely bananas that are about to have the time of their lives.

Marry the two bowls to begin the magic.

Add broken ginger snaps, flax seeds and raisins. Once it’s all stirred together and living in happy matrimony – add it all to the bread pan. Top with extra broken ginger snaps and send that puppy to the oven.

Bake for 40 minutes or 50 for an extra crispy bread ‘crust”.

Ta-da… sugar plums trust me when I say – this is magic waiting to happen .

Enjoy & Stay Sweet xox

7 thoughts on “(Ginger) Snappy Banana Bread

How Sweet Are You?

