The Long & Short of Cran-Orange Shortbread Cookies

One of my favourite parts of baking is the smell … I mean of course, having something delicious to eat afterwords isn’t too shabby either but the way baked goods smell oh.my.cupcakes.!! If someone were to bottle that smell – – I think they would be a million-billionaire!!

This brings me to exhibit A:

Orange Zest. Ohh the citrusy-goodness that radiates from zesting a simple orange is MAGNIFICENT. It’s so fresh, yet warm and comforting.

And so, I thought as the blog world is going into pumpkin recipe overload ( and I do loooovvee me some pumpkin) I thought, I’d bring you something a little different – but still play into the thanksgiving holiday theme. You know what that means sugar pies?

Cranberry( thanksgiving+holiday season)  + Orange citrusy-goodness + shortbread dough = AMAZINGNESS that smells like heaven in my oven, not to mention – DE.LIC.IOUS!!

This is also probably the easiest shortbread dough I have ever made in my life. It requires simple ingredients – holds well in humidity and even better, it doesn’t need any sort of chill time … less chill time = the sooner I can get this deliciousness in.my.tummy.!!

Cran-Orange Short Bread Cookies

2 Cups Flour

1/4 tsp salt ( I always use sea salt … I don’t know why … and you don’t have to)

1 Cup butter (at room temperature)

1/2 icing sugar

1 tsp Vanilla

zest of 1 orange

1/2 cup citrus peel

1 cup dried cranberries ( you can add more if you would like … go ahead, you’re the boss of these cookies – make them your own)

       

Directions;

Preheat oven to 350 oc. Lightly spray cookie sheet or  line with parchment paper.

Cream butter, until light and fluffy. Add icing sugar and salt, mix until well incorporated. Add vanilla ( I’m convinced vanilla takes shortbread cookies from yum to YUMM-O-TASTIC!!). Last, add the flour half cup at a time.

Form into round disk and make an indent in the middle of your dough. In the middle, add citrus peel and cranberries. Mix those babies into this little mingle we have going on. Last, sprinkle the fantastic-ness that is orange zest all over your dough. Mix that magic.

Roll into 1 – 1 1/2 inch thick rectangle. Cut in half. and then each half into 1 inch wide rectangles.

Place on baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes.

This step is VERY IMPORTANT: sit back and savour the goodness that is coming from your oven – the scent is memorizing!! If you find a way to perfume that – give me a call :)

Note 1:Feel free to place the cookies fairly close together – they do not tend to spread at all.

Note 2: These cookies are YOUURRSS … you don’t have to make them into rectangles. Make triangles – squares – circles … go crazy with it!!

These.are.calling.your.name. Get on that :D

Enjoy & Stay Sweet Sugar Pies

xox

11 thoughts on “The Long & Short of Cran-Orange Shortbread Cookies

  1. These shortbread cookies look AMAZING! Besides loving shortbread to death, I’m envisioning the sweetness with the tartness of the zest and cranberries–and it’s making me quite happy. =)

How Sweet Are You?

