Sunshine Soup

Please be aware, I’m about to sing….

– – wait – – first, have you entered my brand spankin’ very first giveaway? – – dooo ittt! I want to give you cookies, and this cook book and .. did I mention cookies?!?!

And now ………

*ahem ahem*

You Are My Sunshine
My only sunshine.
You make me happy
When skies are grey.
You’ll never know, dear,
How much I love you.
Please don’t take my sunshine away

Lately I find the sun’s been playing hide and seek. On Monday, it was out in all its bright and shiny glory and then yesterday – – it was as though someone told it to run away forever!! Mr. Sun, I’m ready for you to come out and play … 🙂

 When it’s cold, dark and cloudy, add a little sunshine to your day with a piping hot bowl of sunshine soup.

A bowl of sunshine is bound to brighten your day.

It’s thick and velvety, bursting with brightness teasing you like a warm blanket in the middle of the arctic

( … whoever said I was dramatic, totally doesn’t know me 😀 lol)

Sunshine Soup

1 Large Sweet Potato – cubed

1 Large Kabocha Squash – halved

2 Large Carrots – peeled and cut into large pieces

3 Tbsp fresh Thyme

4 Cloves Garlic

¼ Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

4 Tbsp Salt

4 Tbsp Black Pepper

4 Tbsp Onion Powder

4 Tsp Fresh Nutmeg

6 Cups Vegetable Stock

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 oc

In a large bowl, mix together all of the above vegetables.

Add the Olive Oil, as well as all of the above seasonings and spices.

Mix together until everything is well coated.

Roast for 40 minuets until all of the vegetables have become tender.

Remove from oven and allow to cool.

Working in small batches, add the roasted vegetables to a blender, with 1 cup of stock – blend until smooth.

Empty into large pot and repeat with the remainder for vegetables and stock.

Reheat once ready to consume.

This soup will leave you, walking on sunshine 🙂

Enjoy my dears, stay sweet

Xoxox

16 thoughts on “Sunshine Soup

    1. Thank you Melissa, for your comment 🙂 It’s really been on and off here, one day it will be the perfect spring day – then the next, we’re back to winter. I love having soups frozen, for those random dips in the weather 🙂 ~ stay warm

  1. Beautiful! It really does look like you’ve captured sunshine in a bowl! How could you not just be happy as a clam eating this???

  2. Pingback: Meatless Movember: Day 1 | The Food Gays

  3. Pingback: Weekly Sunshine - soup and salad |

How Sweet Are You?

