Triple Grain Trail Mix Breakfast Cookie

Hola, mi amigas … how is everyone doing today?!?!

I’ve been in a mood lately – – a cookie kind of mood ( when am I not in a cookie kind of mood)

And when I’m in a mood … I gotta gotta gootttaaa do something about it.

So I did.

And taaa-daaaaa!!

Remember how I was telling you guys about Sarah, my April Foodie Pen Pal … (side note: STOP SLACKING sign up for May buddies … you get yummy stuff in the mail, and get to meet spanky people!!)  

Back on track … remember how I was telling you about Sarah. Well I sent her these … as well as some gourmet chocolate… a cute cupcake change purse and I also sent her these cookies.

And now I want to share them with you 🙂

I don’t mean to be bossy … but make them.

They’re yummy ….

They’re relatively healthy … relatively … or so I told myself.

I’ve actually been able to convince myself that these are so healthy I need to have them for breakfast 😀

Cookies for breakfast.

Ohhh what a concept – what an idea – – what a dream come true!!

Besides taking over the world, my other ambition in life is to completely satisfy the cookie monster.

True story.

Now that I think about it, it’s possible that we were probably meant to be best friends – he’s cute, cuddly, eats cookies 24-7…  what else do you need in a BFF?!?!

Go ahead … have a cookie or two (dozen) for breakfast!!

Triple Grain Trail Mix Breakfast Cookie

1/2 cup Butter, room temperature

¼ Cup Brown Sugar

1 Egg

½ Tsp Vanilla

¾ Cup Flour

½ Tsp Baking Soda

½ Tsp Cinnamon

½ Tsp Nutmeg

½ Tsp Sea Salt

1 Cup Oats

¼ Cup Barley + ¼ cup boiling water (allow to sit until the water is absorbed and barley puffs)

¼ Cup Quinoa + ¼ cup boiling water (allow to sit until the water is absorbed)

½ Cup water

1 Cup Trail Mix dried fruit and nut mix

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 oc. Prepare Cookie sheet ( I used a muffin top pan … :D)

Over low heat, in a small pot add puffed barley and quinoa – add ½ cup of water and allow to simmer until all of the water is absorbed ~ approximately 15 minutes. When finished, remove from heat and allow to cool.

In the meantime, cream butter,  brown sugar, egg and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.

Mix’er up!! Add your dry mixture to the wet stuff. Next, add the oats. Then the cooled barley/quinoa mixture

And last but not least … the trail mix.

Fill your pan/ form into 12 large cookies.

Bake 15 minuets.

Allow to cool (well… at least don’t chomp them when they are still hot enough to burn the roof of your mouth :))

Breakfast of Champions 😀

Breakfast is served.

Have a great weekend my loves, I’ll be back on Sunday – brining a little joy to your life

xoxox

8 thoughts on “Triple Grain Trail Mix Breakfast Cookie

    1. Thanks Valerie, for your sweet comment 🙂 – – this would be ideal for your busy body boys!! And the great thing is, you can pretty much add any sort of mix-ins. Let me know if you get a chance to make it. I’d love to know what your boys thought of it.

  1. Cookies for breakfast. Hell yes! I think I might just love you a lot for this!

    Also, never heard of the foodie pen pals until now. I just checked out that link you gave and thought I’d be disappointed since it seemed like the US and Canada but I’m super happy that it’s now happening in the UK. I’m signed up. I’ve missed this months (by 2 days *boo*) but definitely next month. I’m excited!

    1. LOL – – I think cookies would make a GREAT breakfast!!

      The foodie pen pal program is pretty cool, this is only my second month participating, but it’s been fun so far 🙂 Let me know what you decide to send and what you recieve, next month

How Sweet Are You?

