Sunday’s With Joy : Zucchini-Potato Pancakes with Cilantro Chili Sauce

I admit, I haven’t done SWJ in a while.

Not that I didn’t want to … nor was it because I didn’t have the time… but it was because I was busy eating this ( PS HOLY MOTHER OF YUM! I’ve been craving it since I finished the tub!![ yes, I ate the entire tub *oink*]).

So I didn’t want to make any more frozen treats to tempt me…. For a while.

Please Sunday with Joyer’s don’t kick me out of your fancypants group … I think you’re all extra snazzy… and I swear on the love of brown butter, I won’t flake anymore.  <- that’s how serious I am.

Plus I see s’more brownies in our near future, and I am all over that like a peanut butter on jelly.

I did get a chance to make Joy’s Zucchini Pancake recipe though.

Well sort of.

I changed it.

Sort of.

I used the exact same ingredients.

Used the exact same measurements.

Except I changed the method (seriously, I’m just asking to be kicked out of this book club : ( )

And I made one giant pancake, instead of little ones. It’s still worthy of sharing … or sitting with, right from the oven with a fork (I won’t tell anyone, it can be our little secret … except please don’t burn yourself – – I’d feel guilty. But it would be worth it [sorry it’s true… I’m also sorry I keep doing brackets inside of brackets .. this isn’t math class *yuck] )

Annnnyyywhooooo Want to see what I did?

Zucchini-Potato Pancake with Cilantro Chili sauce

Zucchini-Potato Pancake

  • Potatoes
  • Garlic
  • Sour Cream
  • Red Onion
  • Zucchini
  • Salt
  • Eggs
  •  Flour
  • Paprika

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 of. 
  2. Dice potatoes. In a large pot bring to boil potatoes and garlic. Allow to boil until softened.
  3. Strain of excess water and add to a large bowl.
  4. To the potatoes, add  sour cream, flour, salt and paprika.
  5. Smash it all together, until its smooth.
  6. Add the onions and zucchini.
  7. Last add the egg.
  8. Lightly grease a large non-stick frying pan. Heat for 3 Minutes, until it begins to lightly sizzle.
  9. Add your Zucchini-potato mixture. Spread as evenly as possibly.
  10. Allow to cook for 7 minutes –> you’re creating a crust that is about to rock your socks.
  11. Place in heated oven and allow to bake for 30 minutes.

Once finished baking, work your magic and flip onto your serving plate. 

Cilantro Chili Sauce

  • 1 Cup Plain Yogurt
  • 1/2 Cup Fresh Cilantro
  • 1 Tbsp Dried Chili Flakes

Directions:

  1. Place all of the above ingredients in a blender ( or a mini mixer). Blend until well combined.
  2. Serve with your pan-ca-doodle. 

The crunch on this little monster is heavenly, and the cool creamy sauce matches perfectly. Next time, I think I’m going to up the amount of zucchini I used and also add a little more paprika ( mama likes it a little hot :D).

Toodles, noodles

xox

6 thoughts on “Sunday’s With Joy : Zucchini-Potato Pancakes with Cilantro Chili Sauce

    1. Carrie, I feel the same way!! I adore pancakes … actually they are my favourite breakfast item ever. But they take soooo long. This was a fun recipe. I can’t wait to post this weeks, and let’s not even get started on teh S’more brownies 😉

How Sweet Are You?

