Fresh Fig Chia Seed Pancakes with Coconut Rum Sauce

I’ve probably only mentioned a million and one times, that I’m trying to hold on to ever morsel of summer.

I know it’s September.

I know labour day has passed.

I know what Starbucks has done ( don’t even say it *cough – pumpkin spice latte * … stop it!)

But the sun is still so shiny, and I don’t want to wear super comfy-thick-cuddly sweaters …. Yet.

I want sunshine. I want ice cream. I want s’mores. I want flowy neon maxi skirts and I want beaches …

I’m a brat. I just saw it. I get it.

Can I convince you to continue reading, if I hoax you into justifying that rum is totally healthy breakfast food.

IMG_2297

 IMG_2306

Logic:

Pancakes = breakfast

Pancakes + chia seeds = healthy breakfast

pancakes+ chia seeds + fresh figs = super healthy breakfast with a does of gorgeous and can only be eaten with coconut rum syrup.

Geniusness.

IMG_2357

Fig Chia Seed Pancakes with Coconut Rum Syrup

(serves 2)

Pancakes

1 1/2 Cup Flour

1 Tbsp Baking Powder

1/4 Tsp Sea Salt

3 Tbsp Chia Seeds

1 Tsp Nutmeg

5 Fresh Crushed small Figs

1 Tbsp Vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups milk

1 Tsp Vinegar

IMG_2309

Coconut Rum Syrup

1 Can Coconut Milk (approximately 1 1/2 cups)

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Tsp Sea Salt

1 Tbsp Coconut Rum ( or you can use extract)

IMG_2294

Pancake Directions:

In a large bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients for your pancakes.

Add figs, vanilla, milk and vinegar. Stir until dry ingredients just begin to disappear – lumps are okay – you don’t want to over mix  ( it will give you still pancakes!!).

Allow to sit for 10 minutes ( this is the perfect time to make your syrup).

Over medium high heat, cook 1/2 cups of batter at a time. Note, this stuff is thick. Cook until small bubbles begin to form.

Flip and cook an extra 2 minutes. Repeat with remaining batter.

IMG_2315 IMG_2326 IMG_2337

Coconut Rum Directions:

Over medium heat, add Coconut Milk, brown sugar, sea salt & coconut rum to a sauce pan. Bring to a rolling boil, stir until the brown sugar is completely dissolved. Lower the heat, and allow to simmer for 10 additional minutes.

IMG_2358

Plate your pancakes and make’em pretty!!

Let’s face it, if I can’t get to sunshine & beaches – I’m bringing it to me and what’s a beach without a little booze?

4 thoughts on “Fresh Fig Chia Seed Pancakes with Coconut Rum Sauce

  1. I’m the opposite! I’m so ready for all the fall things. But I have still have at least 2 more months of stifling heat to look forward to here in FL. Haha. 🙂 Love this whole dish! Figs and coconut together.. that sounds fabulous! RUM. I’m on board.

  2. I am enjoying the early onset of fall. Although the last pumpkin spiced latte from Starbucks I had was complete garbage. If only I read your warning sooner.
    Now these pancakes sound like the kind of thing everyone can agree on. The perfect breakfast!

How Sweet Are You?

