Wisdomist Wednesday : Kindness

The nicest thing happened to me today.

782a699bca6e0e3aa2cc3c352bce8374

This morning, much like every morning I headed into my favourite Starbucks to pick up my morning cup. It’s a bit embarrassing how often I go, so much so, that the barista’s know my order as soon as I walk in and they gleefully ask each morning “ The Sharana Special, today?” – I change it up sometimes, but hardly ever. Most often, I say yes please with a big smile. I never use to be a Starbucks drinker, and there are only certain drinks that I actually like. But these last couple of weeks, I’ve needed a Starbucks blend fix.

And so, I headed in.

To my surprise, there was a huge line up. I probably shouldn’t have been shocked – it was definitely the morning rush – but I normally get in when there aren’t many in line. Behind me stood a gentleman than began talking to a lady in front of me ( I assume, they were co-workers) – so that it would not be awkward, I offered him to go in front of me. To be honest, with the swarm of people – one more person in front of my wasn’t going to make a difference – also, he was talking to a friend. I want to help foster morning chit-chat, before the day’s hustle begins.

download

I patiently waited my turn – admiring all of the holiday knick-knacks ( PS I CAN’T WAIT TO START DECORATING MY HOME … but I won’t until the end of the month … or at least not until Santa comes to town!!). We got up to the counter and the gentleman in front of me gave his order – a Grande Vanilla blah blah blah blah blah Latte … and whatever she’s having ( pointing to me).

I was shocked.

This kind gentleman was paying it forward. He offered to pay for my morning cup. SO FREAKING NICE OF HIM!! I probably said thank you only a million times. But I was truly taken back.

I think far too often we see and are surrounded by the negatively in the world. Far too often we forget that there are actually kind people out there, people with good hearts and how far even the smallest of gestures can change someone’s day and attitude.

Whether it’s a cup of coffee, holding the door open – just saying hello. You don’t have to go out of your way at all – it doesn’t have to be expensive, nor extravagant – it really is just a small gesture to sprinkle kindness into the world.

c4dbbebc4b9c53432e9b15ffa253d7b9

This morning was a good reminder, that – it’s nice to be nice.  Get out there and get your kindness on folks!!

3 thoughts on “Wisdomist Wednesday : Kindness

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Latte Bread | Living The Sweet Life

How Sweet Are You?

