Wisdomist Wednesday : Grow

Welcome to 2015 you gorgeous people!!

After announcing my holiday winner, I went on a bit of a holiday hiatus – one filled with family, amazing food, the comfiest pjs and sleep … LOTS of sleep!! It was nothing short of simply amazing.

But now I’m back.

Grab your power pumps, and the brightest red lipstick you own – it’s time to take over 2015!!

Only a couple of days into this fine-looking year, I’m already doing things that scare the cheese doodles out of me in the best way possible. I started a new job on Monday – same company – different department – different position.

This means a couple of things :

  • More responsibility
  • Tons to learn
  • New faces to meet
  • Growing pains

… overall CHANGE! 

While I like new, exciting and sparkly – change freaking scares me. When I accepted this new role, I was pumped!! I didn’t hate my old job, in fact it was great – I just became comfortable. I knew what I was doing … day in and day out … yes, there were still challenges but I knew how to sort things out when need be. I knew I needed to take the leap.

An opportunity presented itself – I jumped in – and now … well now I have two options, sink or swim. And in the words of the philosophical genius Dorie  “Just keep swimming … just keep swimming”. This new role is not drastically different from my last position, is just comprises of a lot more – it’s a new language, a new set of personalities to get acquainted with – a different location ( hello commute .. ps. Thank you subway for not having any delays … I hope I didn’t just jinx myself)

The first day on the job – I totally suffered from “first day of school syndrome” – I wanted my hair to be neat, my clothes to look perfect, I wanted everyone to like me and most important – I didn’t want to trip and fall. Three days in, I can safely say … I’m fine.

I’m proud of myself for taking this step, though I had hesitations – I know the next couple of months have the potential to be exhausting, I know it could possibly take blood sweat and tears out of me, but I also know – at my age, I’m not ready to get comfortable in a position, I’m not finished learning and the more people I get to connect with, the happier I will be.

9efde74bd34d28f06e91375ad396ad51

Here’s to an amazing 2015, whether it be new adventures or securing your current path – my wish for you is that it’s magical.

2 thoughts on “Wisdomist Wednesday : Grow

How Sweet Are You?

