Herb de Provance Cranberry Shortbread cookies

IMG_9310

At the rate I’m going, I might as well start referring to my blog as a cookie corner!! While, I’ve clearly proven I’m crazy for cookies – there’s something about a sweet and a touch savoury shortbread cookie!! This particular recipe has a good crunch to it, it would hold it’s own next to any cup of tea – a pipping cup of coffee or hungry little ones looking for a yummy snack.

IMG_9298

Also, I can’t even describe the amazing smell of these as they bake – almost like spring time flowers. You can thank the herb de provance!!

Can we talk about this AH-MAZING herb blend … since discovering it late last year – I pretty much add it to everything under the sun!! Cooking beef –   herb de provance ; lamb – herb de provance ; salad dressing – herb de provance ; making muffins … herb de provance and cookies, dude – that could do with some herb de provance!! It’s a combination of Rosemary, Marjoram, Thyme, Savory and lavender aaaahhhh soooo good!!

IMG_9305

Dear I say, these may be my absolute favourite non-chocolate related cookie ( I had to be specific, because we all know nothing can come between me and a chocolate chip sea salt cookie fresh from the oven!!). It’s THAT delicious!!

IMG_9252

Herb de Provance Cranberry Shortbread cookies

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon Herb De Provance

1/2 cup Dried Cranberries

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

IMG_9257

Directions:

Cream together butter and sugar.  Add egg and extract.

Add flour, Herb de Provance, cranberries and sea salt. Mix until combined.

Divide dough and shape into 2 long cookie-logs.

Wrap each in parchment paper and freeze until firm, about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 375. Cut into 1/4-inch-thick rounds and bake for 17 minutes.

IMG_9313

…. And then, you’re more than welcome to send me some 🙂

p.s … I apologize for all of the double exclamation mark-ness of this post … they just make me that excited (!!)

How Sweet Are You?

