Flur De Sel Nutella Brownies

I’ve made a couple brownies in my time … all 20-something years of it. But nothing compares to this recipe.

IMG_2065

  • 2 kinds of chocolate chips
  • Nutella …. Pretty much made out of angel dust
  • Flur de sel …. Pretty much angel dust.

IMG_2090

I was lucky enough to get a personalized bottle of Nutella for Christmas last year – can I just say, how freaking well do my friends know me?!?! and also … Nutella! With my name on it! that screams hands off, doesn’t it?!

IMG_2086

I knew I wanted to do something special with this little gift – I wanted to keep it simple but make sure it was indulgent and blow-your-mind-delicious. Verdict: we have a winner!!

IMG_2087IMG_2094IMG_2096IMG_2099

I also want to defend these brownies beforehand … yes, they’re fudgey – yes, they’re gooey – yes, the flur de sel shines – yes, they’re hella delicious… and no, it’s not quite bikini season yet.

IMG_2135

Aka I got your back, Jack!! (not sure who jack is, but I got his back)

Flur De Sel Nutella brownies

Ingredients

1 cup dark chocolate chips

¾ cups unsalted butter at room temperature

½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup Nutella

3 large eggs plus 1 egg yolk

1 teaspoon coffee powder

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

½ teaspoon Flur de sel

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Prepare a 9×11-inch baking pan spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large microwave-safe bowl, combine the chocolate chips and butter. Heat in the microwave for 1 minute then stir.

Continue heating until the mixture is melted and smooth but not scorched. Remove from the microwave and let cool slightly. Stir in the Nutella.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs, sugar, and coffee on medium-high speed until thick. Stir in the cooled chocolate mixture. Add the flour, cocoa, and flur de sel.

Pour the batter into the prepared baking pan. Bake 35 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before slicing.

IMG_2125

Also, in completely unrelated – but totally indulgent news, follow me around town this weekend as my girls and I put our  stretchy pants to good use and eat our way through Kensington Market.

How Sweet Are You?

