Nona’s Italian Wedding Zuppa

I’m not Italian – but I want to be so badly!!

The reality however is, I’m not … 😦

I’ll probably continue wishing and trying to be Italian for as long as I live (…..is this weird?? – never mind, don’t answer that).

I’ve also wanted to call my grandma nona forever … nona just screams cute and cuddly … my granny is cute and cuddly … therefore she’d totally deserves the title nona. If I did call her nona though, I’m sure she’d look at me and wonder what in the world was going on in my little head.

If I explained to her my wish to turn my entire world into an Italian dream (complete with biscotti, tiramisu, gelato and pasta … and pizza … and zeppole…. and an italian polo player 😉 lol) – – she’d be more confused than ever and then probably make me eat something because she’s convinced, food makes everything better ( lol, this is why we get along so well ;)).

If I did have an italian nona though, besides always making delicious cookies and fresh pasta – – she would make me this soup.

It’s not your traditional Italian wedding soup – – she’s my nona … how could it be traditional?!?! … I put pop-tarts in cookies for heaven’s sake. The meatballs are made with chicken … but its pretty delicious none-the-less and I wouldn’t mind living out of italian fantasy by living in an entire pot of it.

Allow yourself to whisk away for a few minutes tonight from the frigid snowy winter, to a cool italian evening – with the sun just setting and ” godere la vostra zuppa” (enjoy your soup ;))

Nona’s Italian Wedding Zuppa

Meatballs:

3 Lbs Ground Chicken

3 Tbsp Fresh Thyme

3 Tbsp Fresh Rosemary

2 Tbsp Salt, Onion Powder, Black Pepper, Ground Garlic

3 Cloves Minced Fresh Garlic

1 Egg

1 Tbsp Cesar Salad Dressing

1 Cup Breadcrumbs

1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 oc. Lightly spray a large baking tray ( I used my largest cookie tray :))

Mix all of the ingredients together, until well combined. Try your best, not to over mix.

Form into 1 Tbsp Balls.

Place on baking tray and bake for 30 minutes.

Remove meatballs from oven and allow to cool.

*At this point, the meatballs can be refrigerated until you are ready to make your soup* – – orr … if you’re hungry

let’s make some soup!!

The Zuppa:

8 Cups Water

4 Cups Chicken Broth ( I used low sodium … just because – – use the fresh stuff, if you’ve got it on hand :D)

1 package Frozen Spinach ~ approximately 2 Cups

1/4 Cup Freshly grated Parmesan Cheese

2 Tbsp Black Pepper

2 Tbsp Salt

2 Cups Tripoline pasta ( or any short cut pasta)

Directions: 

Over medium-high heat and in a large soup pot, bring the water and chicken broth to a boil.

Add frozen spinach. Allow to boil for 5 minutes.

Next, add the black pepper and Salt.

Now add the meatballs back into the soup.

Add the freshly grated Parmesan Cheese.

And last but not least, add the Tripoline. Allow to boil for another 5 minutes

Then …. Mangiamo!!

Stay cozy and warm this weekend with this zuppa … and maybe share with your nona 😉

xoxox

14 thoughts on “Nona’s Italian Wedding Zuppa

  1. OMG. Thank God I’ve had this soup of yours! It was absolutely the most delicious when you made it for me! 😀 I think I MIGHT make this for next week! YUMMY!!! 😀

    1. Thanks Stephanie, that’s so nice of you to stop by and comment :). I completely understand what you mean though, I’m from trinidad and hardly ever make west indian food. lol pretty ironic, if you think about it.

  2. This is one soup I dearly love, it is so full of beautiful flavors! There is a restaurant I loved in Tucson AZ, they had the best Italian Wedding soup:-) I love all the meatballs you made, this looks sooooo good! Hugs, Terra

How Sweet Are You?